Gabba Gabba Hey!

Recently I started listening to Ramones again, their music sticks like glue in my head. Like a big pink bubblegum in your hair- thats how I would describe their music and lyrics, like big pop bubble gum. Because it really is pop in my ears, maybe im not known for being a fan of pop, except from that guy at the psych ward who thinks I have a lovely popstar haircut- thanks by the way Mr Freak (The Gabba Gabba Hey catch-phrase comes from a film named Freak).
 But all popmusic ain´t sucky, only the mass produced pop thats streaming out of the radiospeakers nowdays.
Come to think of it, the music industry is really enviroment friendly, a lot of recycling. The Ramones recycled The Beatles, The Beachboys and The Rolling Stones.
The Offspring, The Dead Kennedys, Bad Religion, Motörhead, Social Disortion and RHCP, the list can be made long but I think you understand where I´m coming from.
You can find a million constillations like this, since all music have it´s own inspiration and it can come from other songs, books, films etc, is all culture is recycled?
But who was the firs one to be recycled? I guess it has to be the first Homo sapien...
Well that´s off topic, I were going to write about music and the Ramones!
I could go on and on with facts about the band, if you´re intrested you can alwas visit Wikipedia, I would recomend you to visit the english one, always better and more information: Here
Well as I wrote earlier in the text I´ve been listening a lot to the Ramones recently. Im a big fan of lyrics and facts about the bands, movies or books im in to too, so often I google and read a lot about various artists.
A question that popped up in my mind is, why do so many people look for hidden messages, translations and interpretations when it comes to musicians like Bob Dylan and Led Zeppelin, well maby it´s because their music is more mysterious, Dylan as a protest singer and Led Zeppelin lyrics which has been linked to drug use, and is randomly psychadelic and strange. Although maby we don´t need to figure out or imagine what todays lyrics is about, you can just google it nowadays.

Before I press the save and publish button I have to make another Astrid Lingren smart ass comment.

The Ramones have made a song called "I don´t wanna grow up" (org. Tom Waits 1992) on the Adios Amigos album (1995). Pippi Longstocking popped in to my head, Pippi and her magig pills (dried peas). I searched for the translation when Pippi, Tommy and Annika in chorus say that rhyme about never wanting to grow up, but I couldent find it.
Wouldent it be awsome if Ramones had joined them, they should have, since some of them has signed out, kicked in or simply died. 

Well her is a pic of what it could have looked like!






Xo Xo Debbie Doll

P.S -Funfact- The song I don´t want live this life (anymore)  (by Dee Dee Ramone) was written for the Sid and Nancy film, but it never made it to the film for various circumstanses D.S.

Skriv om du måste men se för fan till att stava rätt

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0